Posted on

Rhythmn Lesson: 12312312 & Brazilian Choro 22:10:13

In todays lessons we learned about even-note and off-beat syncopation.
We learnt about our ‘favourite’ rhytmn or most commonly used which is 12312312. I found when I was just tapping away I would also tap this beat and that it was used in a lot of popular songs.
We learnt about ‘accenting’ beats, which is making certain beats louder or more emphasised.
To get an off-beat syncopation you have to know the beat, otherwise you will not be able to construct a proper off-beat.
We also learnt about a new rhythmn called a Choro, which is Spanish for ‘Little Cry’ which paradoxically is quite an energetic beat that makes people want to dance.
The beat goes 12345678. I found I picked up this beat quite easily when tapping it out.
We were showed a video of ‘Stomp’ these are an act that create ‘music’ through everyday objects such as brooms, sticks etc much through the use of cross rhythms. I thought that their show was amazing as they have to always now the timing and if one person misses a beat it would throw the whole piece off.
I thought the energy created through using such mediocre objects was amazing.
I also thought it could link quite well with the painting we are using for our fixed stimulus piece, as slaves wouldnt have had the access to real instruments and may have tapped, or used everyday objects to create rhythmn while they were working.

Leave a comment